Sheriff accused of intimidating Hmong voters

Siskiyou County Sheriff Jon Lopey is under investigation for alleged voter intimidation.

In California, the state Attorney General's Office is investigating reports that Hmong residents in Siskiyou County were being intimidated by the Sheriff's Office to keep them from voting in Tuesday's election.

Attorney General's Office in Siskiyou County after reports of sheriff intimidating voters

Sheriff Jon Lopey is under investigation for alleged voter intimidation during this week's primary election. Civil rights activists say that Lopey and his deputies set up a checkpoint outside a subdivision and stopped cars being driven by Hmongs only and asked them whether they were registered to vote.

Hmong residents say that county and state officials showed up at their homes carrying assault rifles and threatened to arrest anyone who tried to illegally vote. As a result, many Hmong resident reportedly did not turn out to vote in Tuesday's primary because they were afraid.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

