Oklahoma bed-and-breakfast accused of human trafficking

Owners of the Whispering Pines Inn allegedly held a Cambodian woman as an indentured servant.

In Oklahoma, the owners of a bed-and-breakfast are under federal investigation for allegedly keeping a Cambodian woman as an indentured servant after paying for her passing to the United States.

Norman inn being investigated after report of Cambodian woman held as indentured servant

Last week, FBI agents raided the Whispering Pines Inn in Norman after claims surfaced that they were keeping an employee as an indentured servant. Investigators say the owners, Rany and Thavory Kchao, payed $8,000 for the woman to come to the United States from Cambodia, and in return she would work off her debt.

The woman reportedly worked as a housekeeper at the Whispering Pines Inn for the past two years, working 14 to 15 hour days, seven days a week, and never received a paycheck. The Kchaos did not let her have access to her immigration documents and did not allow her to leave the grounds of the inn on her own.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

