A Trend of Wrongful Prosecutions

Hear from Professor Xiaoxing Xi, August 9-11 in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Irvine

Recently, the U.S. government has wrongfully prosecuted several Chinese American scientists with espionage-related crimes, including Professor Xiaoxing Xi of Temple University.

These American citizens were widely labeled as spies for China before the government dropped all charges with no explanation, apology, or compensation. Their cases highlight a trend of overzealous targeting of Asian Americans in the name of national security, something these Chinese American scientists share with Muslim Americans post-9/11 and Japanese Americans during World War II.

Most of these recent cases have arisen in the Midwest and East Coast, but from August 9-11, Professor Xi will be making special appearances in California to raise awareness of this case and the broader issue of scapegoating specific immigrant communities due to economic or national security concerns.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

