New NBC Series Makes Light of Human Trafficking and Asian Stereotypes

By Laura Sirikul. Cross-Posted from The Nerds of Color.

Move over, Fresh Off the Boat! There’s going to be a new show in town that will diminish all the progressive work you've done for Asians.

Deadline announced recently that NBC has picked up a half-hour sitcom called Mail Order Family, a comedy about a widowed single father who orders a mail order bride from the Philippines to help raise his two preteen daughters.

The series is loosely based on comedian Jackie Clarke's life — which has already been told in an animated webseries and as a story on This American Life. Her father had his children look through a catalog for a potential wife to be mailed over from the Philippines. He bought a wife and both lived unhappily together for several years. Clarke's new stepmother not only rejected her attempts at closeness but also divorced her father after discovering he had a secret family in the Philippines. Eventually, Clarke's father abandoned his kids to be with his new family in the Philippines as well. And now her story is being turned into a comedy. Funny, right?

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

