Life Imitating Art Imitating Life

By Hudson Yang. Cross-Posted from CAAM.

Hey all, I'm Hudson Yang, and I play Eddie Huang on ABC's Fresh Off the Boat. You probably know Eddie is based on the real Eddie Huang, who's an amazing chef and writer — his restaurant Bauhaus in NYC is the bomb, and he's opening one in LA soon, yeaaahhhh. Eddie's memoir about growing up as a Taiwanese American kid in Orlando, Florida turned into our show.

When they cast me as Eddie, they did it in part because in a lot of ways, we're alike. I mean, it's not just that we kind of look alike: We say what's on our minds and we do what we feel like we gotta do, and we both really love food.

I always have, since I was a little kid. My grandma on my mom's side, who lived with us, would cook all the time — it was her way to show that she loved us. I grew up on amazing Taiwanese food (and leftovers from the food, and leftovers from the leftovers….). She let me help her cook, showing me how to use a knife the right way to peel vegetables, stirring the pot. Once I got burned and my dad flipped out. But I told him it was my fault and that I'd be more careful. I kept on helping my grandma…and even when I got burned again, I pretended it didn't happen so he wouldn't know until it healed.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

