Illinois Senator mocks Tammy Duckworth’s family heritage

"I'd forgotten that your parents came all the way from Thailand to serve George Washington."

Rep. Tammy Duckworth is a congresswoman, war veteran, and candidate for the U.S. Senate in Illinois. She is a dedicated public servant and trailblazer by all accounts. So, of course, as an Asian American woman, she would be attacked by an entitled white politician trying to cast doubt on her military and ethnic heritage.

Sen. Mark Kirk questions opponent's American heritage in Illinois debate

Duckworth is seeking to unseat Republican Senator Mark Kirk. On Thursday night during the Illinois senate debate, Duckworth mentioned her family's history of military service.

"My family has served this nation in uniform, going back to the Revolution," Duckworth said. "I'm a Daughter of the American Revolution. I've bled for this nation. But I still want to be there in the Senate when the drums of war sound. Because people are quick to sound the drums of war, and I want to be there to say this is what it costs, this is what you're asking us to do… Families like mine are the ones that bleed first."

Kirk responded with a snarky dig at Duckworth's heritage: "I'd forgotten that your parents came all the way from Thailand to serve George Washington." The implication: how could a woman who looks like you have any sort of connection to something so purely American as the Revolutionary War?

Well, allow Tammy to explain.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

