Some of My Best Friends Are White

A Poem by Beau Sia, Banned From Facebook

The following poem was originally written by Beau Sia and posted to Facebook on July 6. Last week, given the state of things, Beau thought it would be appropriate to re-post it. But not long after posting it, Facebook took it down because the poem apparently offended someone's sensibilities. Somebody reported it.

So Beau posted it again. Within a day, not only was the poem flagged for removal again, but Beau was blocked from Facebook for a period of 24 hours, along with the warning that he could be blocked permanently if continued to violate "community standards." So Beau posted it again. But this time, he had the support of a community of Facebook friends who also started sharing the poem widely.

Because censorship sucks, and dammit, we need some poetry right now. And so, I share it with you.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

