See early versions of Chirrut and Baze from ‘Rogue One’

'The Art of Rogue One' reveals concept art that shaped these fan-favorite Star Wars characters.

Chirrut Imwe and Baze Malbus have quickly emerged as fan favorite characters from Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. But the movie's early concept art, featured in the official book The Art of Rogue One, reveal that it took quite a bit of work to settle upon the right looks that were eventually realized for Rebellion's Force-friendly blind monk and his battle-weary compatriot, played by Donnie Yen and Jiang Wen, respectively.

Both Chirrut and Baze went through 25-35 different looks from the characters' early conception to the final versions that were eventually committed to the screen. Initially, according to comicbook.com, Chirrut was entirely covered except for his eyes, and Baze may have been a four-armed alien. Chirrut had a more militaristic vibe before the character's look morphed into a sleeker, martial arts-inspired monk's garment.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

