Surgeon General removed from post by Trump administration

Dr. Vivek Murthy was asked to resign, then dismissed.

The Trump Administration has dismissed U.S. Surgeon General Vivek Murthy from his post as the nation's top doctor. He was temporarily replaced by his deputy, Rear Adm. Sylvia Trent-Adams.

Surgeon general is removed by Trump administration, replaced by deputy for now

Murthy, who was appointed by former President Obama, announced on Friday that he had been dismissed.

"While I had hoped to do more to help our nation tackle its biggest health challenges, I will be forever grateful for the opportunity to have served," Murthy wrote in the Facebook post announcing his departure.

"For the grandson of a poor farmer from India to be asked by the president to look out for the health of an entire nation was a humbling and uniquely American story," Murthy continued. "I will always be grateful to our country for welcoming my immigrant family nearly 40 years ago and giving me this opportunity to serve."

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

