Gene Luen Yang is the hardest working guy in comics

Award-winning creator talks about making comic books for Panda Express and Fresh Off The Boat.

If there's a comic book creator who's at the center of Asian American pop culture, it's Gene Luen Yang.

He recently partnered with Panda Express for Asian Pacific American Heritage Month to revisit his brilliant re-imagining of the obscure Golden Age superhero The Green Turtle, with artist Sonny Liew, in Shadow Hero Comics #1 (available with the purchase of a kid's meal).

Gene also penned the Fresh Off The Boat tie-in comic book, with artist Jorge Corona, featured on this week's episode of the popular ABC sitcom, available in comic shops May 6 as part of "Free Comic Book Day."

In addition to regular writing duties on DC Comics' New Super-Man, he also serves as the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature for the Library of Congress. Oh, and did I mention that he's a MacArthur "Genius"?

Plus, he's the nicest guy.

I recently caught up with Gene, who's on the road for his numerous school visits and speaking engagements. He talked about his collaborations with Panda Express and Fresh Off The Boat, possible future adventures for The Green Turtle, and his efforts to get people to read outside their comfort zones.

Read more »

Author: Marcus M. Wise

I love to spend my time online and on some outdoor activities that I like. I spend my weekends by going out with my friends and family. I also love to travel around the world if there a window for monetary budget. I have been into some exciting places and I am surprised to new things I saw.

Leave a Reply

